Home > Recording Companies > So So Def Recordings

So So Def Recordings

Advertising Information for vagmusic

So So Def Recordings is a record label, based out of Atlanta, Georgia and owned by Jermaine Dupri, specializing in Southern hip hop, R&B, and bass music. The Current Roster Consists of: Da Brat, Dem Franchise Boyz, Anthony Hamilton (still signed to LaFace/Zomba), T Waters, María Isabel, SunNY, J-Kwon (still signed to LaFace/Zomba), Young Capone, and Johnta Austin.


In 2003, Dupri was appointed president of Arista Black Music and moved So So Def to Arista and BMG. Bow Wow and Jagged Edge were forced to stay at Columbia because of their contracts, but the other acts transferred to Arista with Dupri. In 2004 Arista and LaFace were bought out and merged with the Zomba Group Label, Dupri was appointed Executive Vice President of Urban Music at Virgin Records and So So Def moved again, this time over to Virgin and EMI losing acts such as Bone Crusher and the YoungBloodZ. Dupri has retained artist such as J-Kwon and Anthony Hamilton despite the fact that they are still signed to LaFace/Zomba. Though Bow Wow is no longer with the label, his music is still published through So So Def. Dupri has resumed mentoring him and served as executive producer for his album.

Back to Recording Companies