Home > Genres > Compilations > Down to the Promised Land: 5 years of Bloodshot Records

Down to the Promised Land: 5 years of Bloodshot Records

Advertising Information for vagmusic

Bloodshot Records is an independent record label established in 1994 in Chicago and specialized in indie and root inflected rock. Down to the Promised Land is a compilation that consists of two CDs and 41 singles performed by some of the most significant and influential Bloodshot Records’ artists. This is an album that offers a great variety of musical styles ranging from punk-bluegrass, melancholy balladry, country soul, garage rock, country-blues and many more. Down to the Promised Land is simply outstanding, and a return to the roots of this label and the music they want to produce. Five years of music are encompassed in this album. Music lovers will definitely love and take pleasure in this release.

Forty-two singles and more than two hours of pleasure are encompassed in Down to the Promised Land. CD1 has 20 singles: “Oh! Chicago” (The Yayhoos), “Evening Gown” (Alejandro Escovedo), “Making Love With You” (Old 97's), “Favorite” (Neko Case/Jon Rauhouse), “Roses Are Blooming” (The Hollisters), “Oh Lonesome Me” (Anna Fermin's Trigger Gospel), “Sunshine” (The Meat Purveyors), “Money To Burn” (Rico Bell/The Snakehandlers), “I Hear A Sweet Voice Calling” (The Handsome Family), “Easy Ridin' Mama” (Devil In A Woodpile), “Please Take The Devil Out Of Me” (Caitlin Cary), “Why Drunky?” (The Blacks), “The Least I Could Do” (Supersuckers/Amy Nelson), “Going Home” (The Roughnecks), “It's Too Late” (The Riptones), “Hell Or High Water” (Johnny Dowd), “Unforgiven” (Hazeldine), “Turn The Lights Down Low” (Moonshine Willy), “Blue Diamond Mine” (Texas Rubies), “Baba O'Riley” (The Waco Brothers).

Great Music! Is not it? But there is even more; the second CD has 21 more singles: “Bloodshot's Turning 5” (Robbie Fulks), “Here Comes My Ball And Chain Again” (Cornell Hurd Band), “See Willy Fly By” (Graham Parker/The Waco Brothers), “Looks Like I'm Up S*** Creek Again” (Nora O'Connor), “Milk And Scissors” (The Sadies), “Broken A/C Blues” (Duane Jarvis), “Wicked Saviour” (Rex Hobart/The Misery Boys), “Glue” (Andre Williams/Sally Timms), “Guitar Playin' Woman” (Bare Jr), “Hard On Things” (Giant Sand), “Monday Night” (Ryan Adams), “Ghost On The Highway” (Trailer Bride), “I'd Like To” (Mike Ireland), “13 Nights” (Kelly Hogan/The Pine Valley Cosmonauts), “Hang Your Head In Shame” (Grievous Angels), “Last To Know” (Chris Mills/Deanna Varagona), “Bring The Noise” (The Unholy Trio), “Brixton” (Chip Taylor/Jon Langford), “Train Song” (Split Lip Rayfield), “Highway To Hell” (Red Star Belgrade) and a bonus track.

Back to Compilations