Home > Genres > Metal > Blue Öyster Cult: Worshiping the Music

Blue Öyster Cult: Worshiping the Music

Advertising Information for vagmusic
Blue Öyster Cult is a heavy and psychedelic metal group which is widely recognized especially for two songs that are: “(Don’t Fear) The Rapper” (released in 1976 and included in their album) and “Agents of Fortune”. It was also the main song of the soundtrack for the movie “Halloween” and also for the movie “The Stand”. The other song is their hit single of 1981 called “Burnin’ for You” which is included in the record “Fire of Unknown Origin”. Other known songs of this band are: “Veteran of the Psychic Wars” (used in the movie “Heavy Metal”), “Godzilla” and “Astronomy” that later was covered by Metallica.

The band was formed in 1960 in Long Island, NY and originally was called Soft White Underbelly, then the group changed the name to Oaxaca (a province of Mexico). In 1968 they changed their name again to Stalk Forest and under this name they released a single with the recording company Elektra Records in 1969. By 1970 they adopted their actual name Blue Öyster Cult.

The band was really metal rock successful during the 70’s and they are still playing their music. In 1998 and 2001 the group released the albums “Heaven Forbid” and “Curse of the Hidden Mirror”. Those records have 16 singles written by the horror novelist John Shirley. The band has released a total of 17 records and the biggest problem of the group is that they have been constantly changing their members due to several reasons.

Today the band is formed by Eric Bloom, Allen Lanier, Buck Dharma, Jules Rodino and Richie Castellano.

Back to Metal